FMS Global News October 12, 2007

Global Fibromyalgia Syndrome (FMS) and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (CFS) News.

DID IT HAPPEN IN OUR LONDON?

by Jeanne Hambleton © 2007

This is reported to have happened in London – I don’t think so. Not our London, not the one in the UK with Westminster, Parliament and our new Prime Minister. Not our country where 2% of the population has fibromyalgia – they wouldn’t have the energy to do this. But who knows in these days of PC – politically correctness – anything goes.
This information was sent to me (as a journalist who might be interested) by email and looked like a newspaper cutting. It had no date and very little details about which newspaper this had been published in. It was however written by a reporter named Mike Foster (who I am sure is no relation to Dr Foster who went to Gloucester) who allegedly was writing for the Weekly World News.
The headline intrigued me. It read, “Nine oldsters booted out of nursing home – for trying to have an orgy!”
No it is not our London we don’t have “oldsters”, but I felt I had to read on wondering if it had anything to do with the News of he World, a renowned paper for a bit of juicy gossip. I worked with a former chief reporter of the NoW and he was capable of writing such a story.
The story reported nine “love-hungry” codgers were booted out of an old folks’ home after attempts to organise an orgy in the recreation room. Aged between 73 and 98 the ‘oldsters’ had been planning the late night event for weeks, said the “spokesperson from for the well respected nursing home”. The partygoers were celebrating one woman’s 90th birthday with a sex party.
It gets better. “According to the British press, the let-it-all-hang-out party began at midnight with three wrinkly Romeos and six Sagging Seductresses who got together in the rec room (would that be reckless room) and striped to the buff.”
Even more curious. A “London tabloid” reported they had candles and music to create a sexy atmosphere.
Although the nursing home’s the event of the year, dubbed The Nude Geezers Gala, sadly it lasted just 20 minutes before rumba music woke the staff up who were despatched to find the source of the music, completely unaware of what they would find.
One staff nurse was reported as saying, “They hadn’t got too far but they were all naked. Believe me, it was the scariest thing I have ever seen in my life”.
Must be all that wrinkling and sagging that frightened her – never mind – it will happen to her one day.
The next day after I had gossiped a bit about the Nude Geezers Gala, a fascinating story, to a few friends, who wondered where exactly that nursing home was and what really happened – like what they could not print for the sake of decency, I got another email from the same “friend” saying ha ha ha – this came from a fun filled website for wrinkly Romeos and Sagging Seductresses. Did I mention I got the second email on April 2nd?
Even though I had looked a bit foolish as a real April Fool, I liked the story and hoped it might bring a smile to you face. Sometimes you must be a brave little soldier and laugh at a joke made at your expense.
I had to remember what I said –laughter is the best medicine. But just think while you were reading this nonsense did you think about your aches and pains. I didn’t.
I am currently reading two books – one about positive thinking and the other on the molecules of your emotions, recommended to me by a GP. When I reach the end – it will be a while yet – I will let you know more about this.
But have you ever wondered how those “amazing cures” happen when someone is almost miraculously cured. I am not saying there is not a supreme being who can heal anyone at anytime, but what I am thinking is that positive thinking can help.
A man called Norman Cousins wrote a book years ago, in which he is said to express the view that you could make yourself better by laughing, This is not as silly as it seems as laughter releases all sorts of good chemicals within the body and if it is possible this works it must be worth a try. In the USA and Australia they have laughter clubs where people go to he he he and ha ha ha and feel better. They even have teams of happy folk who visit hospitals to make patients laugh – I am told they have them in stitches. I will be including chapters about this in the new fibromyalgia book Pain 24/7 The Fibromyalgia Jigsaw©.
Others claim you can think yourself well. For sometime I was in complete denial about fibromyalgia. During that time and now I am so much better than in 2003 when I could hardly walk – I think positively and do my best to forget the aches and pain – and I look so well.
When you are feeling down, isolated and depressed just remind yourself there is only one way to go and that is back up. Change your way of thinking – look forward to getting better and doing more things with your family. We will pat you on the back and tell you how good you have done and cheer you on our way, but you have to help and take control. The light is on at the end of the tunnel – see you the other end eh?

Will be back soon. Jeanne

About FMS Global News

Folllowing Rick Usher's death in December 2008, at his request in September of that year, I had agreed, as his principal contributor and an experienced journalist, to run the FMS Global News service due to his heavy commitments to music and raising research funds through this avenue. Following his sad and sudden death I hope to continue his work as he would have wished.
This entry was posted in Britain, British, CFS, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, Europe, Feeds, Fibrohugs News, Fibromyalgia, Fibromyalgia Blogs, Fibromyalgia News, FMS, FMS Global News, Global News, Jeanne Hambleton, Journalist UK, London UK Feed, News, News UK, Ottawa City Feed and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FMS Global News October 12, 2007

  1. Pingback: FMS Global News October 12, 2007 « Global Health Vision

Leave a Reply

